Research scholarships awarded

University of Otago BMedSc (Hons) award recipients include (front,  from left) Gina Wilson, Amy...
University of Otago BMedSc (Hons) award recipients include (front, from left) Gina Wilson, Amy Okamura-Kho, Erika Sirisomboonwong, Sean Bennett; (middle) Lucy Sulzberger, Emily Dwight, Peter Meffan, Jordan Gibbs, Kieran Bunn; (back) Dean Ramage,...

Doctors should remain aware of scientific research throughout their clinical careers, Prof Peter Crampton, of the University of Otago, has emphasised.

Prof Crampton, who is dean of the University of Otago Faculty of Medicine, made that point during a recent talk to a group of 15 medical students who have opted to undertake bachelor of medical science honours studies for a year during their medical degrees.

The highly influential Flexner Report, which reformed and strengthened medical education in the United States and Canada early last century, had highlighted the importance of scientific research in medical education, he noted.

Such influences remained in medical education today, and the Otago Medical School also emphasised the close ''relationship between science and the clinical process''.

He urged the medical students not only to enjoy the year of research which lay ahead, but also to consider the ''wonderful careers'' available to academic doctors, who included university teaching with their clinical work.

In the interests of medical education, it was important to maintain a supply of future university medical teachers and researchers, he said.

The following students received BMedSc scholarships: Maurice and Phyllis Paykel Trust Research Award in Medical Sciences, $8000, Kieran Bunn, Ursula Poole, Dean Ramage; Tassell Scholarship, $8000, Lucy Sulzberger; Faculty of Medicine Scholarship, $5000, Emily Dwight, Sebastian Ang, Sean Bennett; Nick McIntosh, Peter Meffan, Hayden Donnelly, Jordan Gibbs, Terrence Reilly, Campbell MacLachlan, Amy Okamura-Kho, Philip Allan, Ranui Baillie; Marcus Fitchett and Reginald Medlicott Scholarship, $5000, Erika Sirisomboonwong; L.F. Hall Scholarship, $5000, and A.F.J. Mickle Scholarship, $600, Gina Wilson.


Add a Comment