Taieri takes title

Taieri College's winning junior netball team. Photo supplied.
Taieri College's winning junior netball team. Photo supplied.
Taieri College has won the junior grade of the Otago secondary schools netball tournament.

Teams from 16 schools competed in Dunedin over two days last week.

The college teacher in charge of netball, Karen Rosevear, said all three Taieri teams made the top eight after day one.

The 9A juniors team played two games on the first day, losing to Columba by three goals and beating Waitaki Girls'.

On the Sunday, the top eight teams split into two round-robin pools and the top two teams from each pool met in the final.

Taieri College convincingly beat Wakatipu, St Kevin's and Dunstan to reach the final against Columba, the same team it had played the day before.

After a slow start, Taieri clawed back a five-goal deficit at half time to go into the final quarter with scores tied.

Taieri was three goals ahead near the end but the score was tied at the fulltime whistle.

The game went into extra time, both sides chasing a two-goal advantage to decide the winner.

Good defence and through court play combined with accurate shooting gave Taieri the victory.

In other grades, both Taieri's 10A and senior A teams had players on crutches by the end of the first day.

Senior 10 A finished fourth in the intermediate section and the senior A team finished sixth.

Several Taieri College girls have been trialling for Dunedin rep teams.

Maia Wylie and Sequioa Leatham have made the under-15 A team.

Kaylee Bezett, Zara Forgie, Hannah Ashton and Jordyn Paterson have been selected in the under-15 and under-14 B teams.

In year 7 and 8 netball, the following players were selected for the Taieri Plain's 2014 representative teams. -

8A team: Portia Blair, Arna Finnerty, Laura Bungard, Mamarai Metaukore, Tayla Cramond, Bella Mitchell, Meara Atheson-Kappley.

8B team: Sophie Wilson, Tara McNally, Nicole Pendreigh, Shanae Burgess, Lorraine Nyamugafata, Ashlee Maxwell, Maigan Fright.

7A team: Zharna Beattie, Katelyn Loose, Tayla-Jo Crowe-Melvin and Chelsea Smith.

Add a Comment