A colorful crop of new MPs

A singing TV weatherman-turned-entertainer and a former mayor famous for urinating on a tree are among a colourful crop of new MPs set to enter parliament.

Twenty-five new MPs from across the political spectrum were elected in Saturday night's general election.

Six of them are from Winston Peters-led New Zealand First, which surprised many commentators by winning 6.8 per cent of the vote.

Its candidates include former North Shore Mayor Andrew Williams, whose time in local government was marred by controversy.

He faced widespread criticism when he was seen urinating against a tree, then driving home, after a night out at a North Shore bar in 2010.

Prime Minister John Key also accused Mr Williams of sending him obnoxious and abusive late night text messages during the Auckland "super city'' reforms.

In 2008, Williams reportedly lashed out at an ambulance officer who treated him after he collapsed during a function at Devonport Naval base in August 2008.

His wife claimed he was suffering from "Chinese lurgy'' after a trip to Korea and China.

Former TV weatherman and entertainer Brendan Horan is also in parliament, thanks to his place at number six on the New Zealand First list.

His website (www.brendanhoran.co.nz) says Mr Horan had a past life as a male swimsuit model, before "bringing sunshine to New Zealand'' homes as a TVNZ weather presenter.

In recent years, he has acted as a for-hire singer, releasing a single called "New Year, New You'' in 2008.

"Frequently referred to as "Mr Sunshine'' or "Mr Personality'', Brendan's handsome and cheerful disposition enamored the New Zealand public and set a great many feminine hearts a flutter,'' his website says.

The Green Party's historic election night success also sees it bring at least six new MPs to parliament.

Eugenie Sage was a member of Environment Canterbury from April 2007 until the Government sacked its entire collection of elected officials in 2010, claiming they were dysfunctional.

Number 12-ranked Holly Walker had beginnings as the daughter of a solo mum living in a council flat in the Hutt Valley before going on to win a Rhodes scholarship and study at Oxford University.

The party also hopes 14th-ranked Mojo Mathers, who would be New Zealand's first deaf MP, will make parliament once special votes are counted.

National's new candidates include former TV gardener and radio host Maggie Barry, who romped home in her safe North Shore seat.

Paul Goldsmith, who lost to Act's only MP John Banks in Epsom, made it to parliament thanks to his placement at 39 on the National list.

Among the new Labour MPs are Andrew Little, a former party president and union leader, who suffered a heavy loss to National's Jonathan Young in the New Plymouth electorate.


National Party: Scott Simpson, Maggie Barry, Mike Sabin, Ian McKelvie, Mark Mitchell, Jian Yang, Alfred Ngaro, Paul Goldsmith.

Labour Party: Andrew Little, David Clark, Megan Woods, Rino Tirikatene, Louisa Wall.

Green Party: Eugenie Sage, Jan Logie, Steffan Browning, Denise Roche, Holly Walker, Julie Anne Genter.

New Zealand First: Tracey Martin, Andrew Williams, Richard Prosser, Brendan Horan, Denis O'Rourke, Asenati Taylor.


Add a Comment

Our journalists are your neighbours

We are the South's eyes and ears in crucial council meetings, at court hearings, on the sidelines of sporting events and on the frontline of breaking news.

As our region faces uncharted waters in the wake of a global pandemic, Otago Daily Times continues to bring you local stories that matter.

We employ local journalists and photographers to tell your stories, as other outlets cut local coverage in favour of stories told out of Auckland, Wellington and Christchurch.

You can help us continue to bring you local news you can trust by becoming a supporter.

Become a Supporter