New faces on trust

Cath Gilmour
Cath Gilmour
Four new faces have been elected to the Central Lakes Trust, alongside returning trustee Cath Gilmour.

Ms Gilmour, of Queenstown, begins her third and final term as a trustee. Trustees must retire after three three-year terms.

The preliminary results, released today, put Ms Gilmour as the second-highest polling candidate with 3394 votes.

Alexandra businessman Lindsay Breen was the highest-polling candidate with 4616 votes.

The other three candidates elected were former Central Otago mayor Tony Lepper, of Earnscleugh (3248 votes), Rosie Hill, a Queenstown lawyer (2624) and Kathy Dedo, who works in community development in Wanaka (2574).

The highest-polling unsuccessful candidates were Cromwell businessman Glen Christiansen (2164 votes), Central Otago district council manager Louise van der Voort (1950), retired Alexandra chartered accountant Hugh McIntyre (1949) and Central Otago district councillors Stephen Jeffery (1928) and Martin McPherson (1918).

Twenty-five people stood for election, a record for the trust.

Four long-serving trustees stood down at this election — Bernie Lepper, Alex Huffadine, Greg Wilkinson and Malcolm Macpherson, all having been mandated to retire.

As well as the five elected trustees, the trust has three appointed trustees — Linda Robertson, Michael Sidey and Hetty Van Hale.

Confirmed results will be released on Thursday.


Add a Comment