Three meetings arranged for election candidates

Tony Lepper
Tony Lepper
Central  Otago voters have the choice of three locations so far to hear election candidates speak.

``Meet the candidates'' sessions have been organised in Alexandra, Omakau and Cromwell.

The first, at St Aidans Church Hall, Alexandra, on August 31, focuses on the three Central Otago mayoral candidates, Tim Cadogan, Tony Lepper and Martin McPherson. The event is organised by Central Otago Grey Power and begins at 1.30pm.

The second meeting is on September 14 in the Omakau Hall, starting at 6.30pm. Cambrian resident Graye Shattky canvassed support for holding such a meeting and said he was ``overwhelmed by the response''.

Former Central Otago district councillor Colin Stevenson will chair the meeting and candidates will speak and answer questions.

``It seems there are a number of topics likely to be debated, including rates, recycling, roads and bridges,'' Mr Shattky said.

The three mayoral aspirants have been invited, along with the three candidates vying for two seats representing the Earnscleugh-Manuherikia ward of the Vincent Community Board, James Armstrong, Nadia Fodie and Russell Garbutt.

The Otago Regional Council Dunstan constituency candidates, Graeme Bell, Gerry Eckhoff, Gary Kelliher, Michael Laws and Maggie Lawton have also been invited, along with district council Earnscleugh-Manuherikia ward candidates Malcolm Topliss and Victoria Bonham. The latter two have no opposition for their seats, so are elected, but the meeting would be a chance for electors to hear from them, Mr Shattky said.

The third meeting is co-hosted by the Cromwell Lions Club and Cromwell Rotary Club, at the Golden Gate Lodge Conference Centre on September 19, starting at 7pm.

All candidates for the mayoralty, district council Cromwell ward, Cromwell Community Board, Otago Regional Council Dunstan constituency and Central Otago Health Inc (COHI) have been invited. Each speaker will have time to address the meeting and answer questions from the floor.

There is no election for the Cromwell ward or COHI but those candidates have also been included, so voters can meet and hear from them.

Voters will get to choose four people for the community board from candidates Annabel Blaikie, Robin Dicey, Alistair Hamilton, Anna Harrison, Werner Murray and Gordon Stewart.

Former Cromwell mayor and Otago Regional Council chairman Duncan Butcher will chair the meeting.


Add a Comment



Our journalists are your neighbours

We are the South's eyes and ears in crucial council meetings, at court hearings, on the sidelines of sporting events and on the frontline of breaking news.

As our region faces uncharted waters in the wake of a global pandemic, Otago Daily Times continues to bring you local stories that matter.

We employ local journalists and photographers to tell your stories, as other outlets cut local coverage in favour of stories told out of Auckland, Wellington and Christchurch.

You can help us continue to bring you local news you can trust by becoming a supporter.

Become a Supporter