Jensen, Rippon recipients of top honours at Otago awards

Hayley Jensen. PHOTOS: ODT FILES
Hayley Jensen. PHOTOS: ODT FILES
They can bat, they can bowl and now they have the trophy to prove it.

All-rounders Hayley Jensen and Michael Rippon scooped the major prizes at the Otago Cricket Awards last night.

Jensen was named Sparks cricketer of the year after a tremendous season.

The 27-year-old transferred from Canterbury to help rejuvenate her career and it proved to be an inspired move.

The right-hander helped the Sparks reach the playoffs of the twenty20 competition.

She chipped in with 174 runs at a strike rate of 100 and also picked up seven wickets.

Jensen was Otago’s leading scorer in the one-day tournament with 233 runs at an
average of 58.25 and grabbed eight wickets at an average of 15.75.

Rippon, who was named Volts player of the year and Plunket Shield player of the year, edged closer to his dream of playing cricket for New Zealand following an excellent season.

The 28-year-old was Otago’s leading run-scorer in the first-class tournament. He amassed 364 runs at an impressive average of 72.80 and also claimed 12 wickets at 23.33.

He was also one of Otago’s best-performed players in the one-day tournament and got through some tidy spells in the twenty20 competition.

Suzie Bates was among the night’s other big winners. She was named batswoman of the year.

Emma Black picked up the bowling award and Bella James was named fielder of the year.

Michael Rippon
Michael Rippon

The new perseverance and resilience award went to Caitlin Blakely and Sophie Oldershaw.

Blakely is closing in on 100 games for the Sparks across both formats and Oldershaw claimed her maiden five-wicket bag this season.

Volts captain Jacob Duffy collected the Volts bowler of the year title and was named most valuable player.

The 26-year-old was perhaps unlucky not to pick up the main award.

Duffy was the leading wicket-taker in the Plunket Shield (22 wickets at 22.86) and was the second-leading wicket-taker in the one-day tournament (21 wickets at 19.19).

He also picked up 11 wickets in the twenty20 competition and pound for pound was the best bowler on the domestic circuit last summer.

Dean Foxcroft, who is stranded in South Africa, unable to return because of the border restrictions, was named batsman of the year and rising star.

The 22-year-old South African scored 406 runs at an average of 50.75 in the one-day competition and 269 at 67.25 in the twenty20 tournament.

The right-armer spinner also nabbed 22 wickets across all three formats.

Left-hander Nick Kelly was named twenty20 player of the year, while Neil Broom was named one-day player of the year.

The award for outstanding individual performance went to Hamish Rutherford. He clobbered 155 off 104 balls against Central Districts during a one-day game. He swatted 19 fours and seven sixes that day.

Add a Comment


Our journalists are your neighbours

We are the South's eyes and ears in crucial council meetings, at court hearings, on the sidelines of sporting events and on the frontline of breaking news.

As our region faces uncharted waters in the wake of a global pandemic, Otago Daily Times continues to bring you local stories that matter.

We employ local journalists and photographers to tell your stories, as other outlets cut local coverage in favour of stories told out of Auckland, Wellington and Christchurch.

You can help us continue to bring you local news you can trust by becoming a supporter.

Become a Supporter