Regional sports roundup

Central Otago

Palmerston and Naseby will contest the Maniototo Eastern Districts cricket final this weekend in Palmerston.

In one of Saturday's 40-over semifinals, top seed Palmerston beat Gimmerburn by 74 runs. Batting first, the home side made 180 for seven after being 40 for four. Jeff Black scored 41, Andrew Grubb was 31 not out and Roger Buckingham made 30. Steve Blakely took three for 35 for Gimmerburn.

Gimmerburn was all out for 106. Sam Pollock scored 31 with McLelland taking six for 24. At Waikouaiti, the home side fell short by just six runs to third-placed Naseby. Naseby made 219 for nine from 40 overs, led by Rex Gibson, who smashed an unbeaten 88. Brad Williams took four for 21 for Waikouaiti.

Waikouaiti was all out with four balls remaining in its chase, six runs short. Michael Dodd scored 82 and Williams reached 39. Karl McDiarmid took four for 41 for Naseby.

In the Koford Cup competition, Queenstown smashed Cromwell by nine wickets at Anderson Park. Cromwell batted first and limped through to 93 all out. Brayden Hill top scored with 39. The visiting side then cruised to victory, losing just one wicket on its way to 94. Jared Andrew led the chase with 59 not out.

The other Koford Cup match saw Albion beat Blacks Hill by 28 runs to retain the Burnett Shield. The home side made 246 from its 40 overs, with Jono Homer (56) and Tim Cotter (46) adding 92 runs for the second wicket. The lower order also batted well with Joe Cotter making 34 and Mike O'Connor chipping in with 26.

In reply, Blacks Hill made 218. Jamie Henderson made 52, Russell Nevill chipped in with 35 and Kieran Eathorne contributed 32. Matt Anderson took three for 28 for Albion. Dan Edwards also took three wickets and Albion captain Jon Lovelock finished with two for 23.

North Otago

Union moved into the outright lead in the Borton Cup when it defeated co-leader Waitaki Boys' High School by 48 runs at Milner Park. St Kevin's College beat Oamaru by 113 runs, and Albion beat Valley by nine runs.

Waitaki Boys' put Union in to bat and only Glynn Cameron (38) and Duncan Drew (35) showed resistance as Union was bundled out for 173 in the 38th over. Matt Munro took three for 30.

Riley Rooney scored 42 for Waitaki Boys' but Matt Lilley (five for 50) ended the school's chase at 125 in the 42nd over.

Bolstered by a first-wicket partnership between Mike Seddon (61) and Ed Smith (56), St Kevin's compiled 327 before the final wicket fell in the 49th over. Shawn Kelliher continued his good form with 62 while Brady Kingan and Brodie Flannery both made half-centuries. Bowling for Oamaru, Gary Mahuika took five for 55.

Richard Witham (41), Andrew Ashton (40), James Backhouse (33) and Mahuika (33) helped Oamaru reach 214 in the 40th over. Kelliher claimed four for 53.

Valley dismissed Albion for 117 in the 41st over. Steve Halliwell top-scored for Albion with 23, while Reuben Simpson took four for 23 for Valley and Blair Malcolm three for 28. Only Simpson (22) and Tom Squire (21) showed resistance as Valley was dismissed for 108 in the 31st over. Tom Hoornweg took four for 38 for Albion and Paul Odell had three for 23.

With three rounds remaining before the semifinals, Union has moved into the outright lead with 70 points ahead of Waitaki Boys' (60), Albion (50), Valley (40), St Kevin's (40) and Oamaru (10).

Weston and Herbert had wins on Saturday. Weston edged Oamaru 5-4, while Herbert shut out Hampden 9-0. Herbert's win puts it on top of the table with 11 points followed by Weston (9), Hampden (8), Oamaru (6) and Waimanui (2).

North Otago will field strong teams in the senior quadrangular tournament in Dunedin next weekend. The men are headed by player-coach Janos Manyai with Robin Jamieson, Albert Hailes and Jeremy Ferguson completing the lineup. The women have a mother-daughter combination in the team of Nicky Wallace, Rebecca Dellaway, Judith Wallace and Leanne Mavor.

The No 2 team has the Dalziel brothers, Josh and Nick, at one and three, with Glen Claridge and Thomas More completing the four. Josh Caldwell is reserve. The women are Renee Fisher-Hewitt, Rebecca Ryan, Cathy Aitken and Joanne Mallinson, with Kate Caldwell the reserve.

Bob Wilson and Anne McDonald (Awamoa) will represent North Otago in the zone mixed pairs play-offs in Dunedin in March. The pair came through unbeaten in qualifying play on Saturday with wins over Aileen Blyth (11-8), Vic Randall (13-6) and Barney Patton (14-6) before defeating Sue Jones in the semifinals, 11-8. In the final against Patton and Brenda Hope, a composite pair, Wilson and McDonald won 13-6.

South Otago

Heath Culbertson starred with bat and ball to guide Clinton to a four-wicket win over Blueys on Saturday.

Culbertson was one of three Clinton bowlers to snare three wickets as Blueys were bowled out for 101. Culbertson had three for 31, and Marc Phillips and Kurt Thompson also picked up three-wicket bags.

Picking up the bat, Culbertson was virtually a one-man band as Clinton chased down the target in the 26th over. He was left unbeaten on 67.

Owaka picked up a bonus point after grabbing a three-wicket win in Kaitangata. Jason Young top-scored with 30 for Kaitangata as it was dismissed for 123 in the 37th over. Blair Barrington provided support with 25. Owaka's Jamie Shaw took four for 20 off eight overs.

In reply, the Owaka middle order reached the target in the 29th over. Steve Clarke (27 not out) and Francis Parker (20) were the leading scorers. Kevin Kruger, Michael Dustow and Young all took a brace of wickets for Kaitangata.

The ball dominated the bat in the Lawrence v Milton clash, with 18 wickets falling for just 147 runs.

Lawrence folded for 73, with Tim Grant (three for 10) and Kent Nurse (three for 30) dominating for Milton. A simple chase for Milton turned into a battle of attrition. Milton eventually scraped to 74 for eight to win the game and secure a home semifinal, against Kaitangata. Blueys will host Clinton in the other semifinal.

Robert Wilson and Marylin Paterson beat Bruce Campbell and Sylvie Melvin 22-18 in the mixed pairs final on Friday night.

Add a Comment