Snow recognised with top award

Siena Snow has claimed Otago rowing’s top award.

The Dunstan Arm athlete was named the rower of the year at Tuesday night’s Otago Rowing Awards.

Snow, a former Columba College pupil, had a fantastic season and was named in the New Zealand under-19 women’s eight crew for the world championships.

Her award was one of five won by the Dunstan club.

The open women’s quadruple sculls crew of Sophie Smith, Pipi Horan, MacKenzie Ealson and Ella Price were named crew of the year.

They won gold in the women’s senior quadruple sculls at the national championships, as well as in the premier section of the South Island championships.

Both were significant results for a crew made up of two school rowers, combined with two recent school leavers.

Horan was also named female school rower of the year, on the back of her gold in the under-17 single sculls at the Maadi Cup.

It followed her winning the emerging sportswoman of the year award at the Otago Sports Award earlier this month.

Harry Wilkinson claimed club rower of the year, while Simon Smith added another coach of the year award to his name.

John McGlashan College’s Fynn Allison won the male school rower of the year award, while Columba College duo Grace Heath and Charli Sinclair took the novice crew of the year and Otago Girls’ High School’s Emily Esplin was coxswain of the year.

North End’s Dave Hanan won masters rower of the year, while Otago Rowing Club’s David Jackson won administrator of the year.

Our journalists are your neighbours

We are the South's eyes and ears in crucial council meetings, at court hearings, on the sidelines of sporting events and on the frontline of breaking news.

As our region faces uncharted waters in the wake of a global pandemic, Otago Daily Times continues to bring you local stories that matter.

We employ local journalists and photographers to tell your stories, as other outlets cut local coverage in favour of stories told out of Auckland, Wellington and Christchurch.

You can help us continue to bring you local news you can trust by becoming a supporter.

Become a Supporter