Nine medals claimed by Otago schools

The Columba College girls under-15 coxed four of  Izzy Gallagher, Maddie Sullivan, Sienna Snow,...
The Columba College girls under-15 coxed four of Izzy Gallagher, Maddie Sullivan, Sienna Snow, Elyse Davey and cox Ella Herberton their way to third in the final yesterday. PHOTO SHARRON BENNETT
Otago schools bagged nine medals on the first day of finals at the Maadi Cup.

Three golds, three silvers and three bronze marked a solid return with a day remaining at Lake Karapiro.

The Dunstan High School's under-15 girls provided two of those golds - defending two of the titles the school won last year.

Its quadruple sculls team of Sophie Smith, Phoebe Wellstead, Brooke Williams, Malia Banks and cox Delicia O'Brien won the first in the morning.

Their time of 7min 25.30sec gave them an impressive 3sec victory.

Finishing just behind was Mount Aspiring College.

Hayley Ambrose, Pipi Horan, Rugby Boyd, Emma Findlay and cox Patrick Hartley edged Auckland's Dio School for Girls to take silver.

The Dunstan crew upped that time difference to 4sec in taking the under-15 octuple sculls in the afternoon.

Jazlyn Edmonds, Aime Wright, Daendie de Beer and Billy Grant joined the quad to finish in 7min 03.44sec.

The other gold came from John McGlashan College's Mark Smith and Jack Pearson.

They finished 2sec ahead of the field in the under-15 boys double sculls to win in 7min 07.30sec.

Otago Boys' High School was always a strong chance in the under-18 grade and claimed its first medal.

Ben Mason, Thomas Ryan, Edwin George, Jack Webber and cox Jake Burgess finished second in the boys quadruple sculls to Christchurch Boys' High School.

Wakatipu High School's Loic Billoud and Charlie Campbell also took silver, in the boys under-17 double sculls.

The school added a second medal when its under-16 quadruple sculls crew of Enzo Wilson, Oliver Herron, Oliver Bisley, Lucas Erskine and cox Alex Thomson claimed bronze.

In the under-15 coxed four Columba College also claimed bronze through Isabel Gallagher, Siena Snow, Madison Sullivan, Elyse Davey and cox Ella Herbert.

St Hilda's Collegiate duo Ella Fry and Sophie Sinclair were the other medal-winning crew, claiming bronze in the girls under-18 double sculls.

Add a Comment