Otago wins trophy for top university

The University of Otago has once again shown its rowing dominance.

It returned from Lake Karapiro with the Ashes, the trophy for most overall points at the national university championships.

It is a trophy of particular significance to Otago, made from the ashes of its old clubrooms which burned down.

The team won 34 medals in the 34-event regatta, made up of 15 golds, 10 silvers and nine bronzes.

Key among those were the championship and novice races, both worth double points towards the Ashes.

Otago's sculling crews claimed four championship golds.

Anna Macquarie and Kaylin Wren combined to win the women's double.

They were joined by Saskia Klinkenberg, Marion Hardwick and cox Lauren Gibb to take the quad.

Bradley Leydon and Jared Brensell were similarly successful in the men's double. Matthew Handford, Ari Palsson and cox Laura McMillan then combined with them to win the quad.

Both its championship eight crews won silvers, while both novice eights took gold.

On Wednesday an Otago men's eight will leave from China to compete in an international universities regatta.


Add a Comment

Local journalism matters - now more than ever

As the Covid-19 pandemic brings the world into uncharted waters, Otago Daily Times reporters and photographers continue to bring you the stories that matter. For more than 158 years our journalists have provided readers with local news you can trust. This is more important now than ever.

As advertising drops off during the pandemic, support from our readers is crucial. You can help us continue to bring you news you can trust by becoming a supporter.

Become a Supporter