Rangitata's new Labour MP the first in electorate's history

Jo Luxton. Photo / Supplied
Jo Luxton. Photo: Supplied via NZ Herald
One of the truest blue electorates of them all, has turned red for the first time in its history.

Rangitata, which takes in Ashburton and Timaru, has gone to Jo Luxton, a list MP from 2017.

She told Mike Hosking on Newstalk ZB that she could feel the mood changing in the electorate.

"The feel on the ground has been so different this time around. I worked damn hard, damn hard, over the last three years."

Luxton's victory comes after the resignation of disgraced former Rangitata MP Andrew Falloon in August.

Rangitata electorate results:

Jo Luxton (Labour) - 18,876
Megan Hands (National) - 15,392
Hamish Hutton (ACT) - 1220

It follows a theme also seen in the greater Christchurch electorate's last night.

Nearly all of the seats in the area went to Labour.

The party will retain all the seats it held before while adding a couple of fresh faces to its Christchurch contingency.

In what is one of the biggest upsets for National, senior MP Gerry Brownlee lost his seat in Ilam to newcomer Sarah Pallett from Labour.

Brownlee entered Parliament in 1996, winning the Ilam seat and has held it ever since.



Add a Comment






Our journalists are your neighbours

We are the South's eyes and ears in crucial council meetings, at court hearings, on the sidelines of sporting events and on the frontline of breaking news.

As our region faces uncharted waters in the wake of a global pandemic, Otago Daily Times continues to bring you local stories that matter.

We employ local journalists and photographers to tell your stories, as other outlets cut local coverage in favour of stories told out of Auckland, Wellington and Christchurch.

You can help us continue to bring you local news you can trust by becoming a supporter.

Become a Supporter