No limits on creativity in art awards

Romahapa sisters Cassie (7, left) and Joss (6)  Winslade  show off their masks at last night's...
Romahapa sisters Cassie (7, left) and Joss (6) Winslade show off their masks at last night's Otago Art Society Youth Art Awards at the Dunedin Railway Station. Photo by Gregor Richardson.

Work, sculptures, hand-made masks and galleries filled with children's paintings were put on display last night at the Otago Art Society's Youth Art Awards.

This year's 325 entries - up from 290 last year - were the most in the awards' 15-year history, society president Jenny Longstaff said.

And all of those entries were on display at the Dunedin Railway Station last night, where more than 100 children and family members feasted on party food and explored the society's first-floor galleries for their work before the awards ceremony.

The entries were grouped into three age categories: 5-7, 8-10, and 11-13.

Children were given no parameters within which to contain themselves, Ms Longstaff said, with the emphasis being on creativity.

That meant some entries did not stick to the traditional drawing or painting on a piece of paper, she said.

Models, sculptures, print-making and collage were all included.

''They're all different methods of being creative. There's no stipulation on what art is; it's up to the individuals.''

The awards were run to encourage children to celebrate that creativity and give them the opportunity to display their work in public, which was a ''big deal'' for them, Ms Longstaff said.

Romahapa School sisters Cassie and Joss Winslade painted watercolour scenes of underwater and space.

Their mother, Lisa Winslade, said the awards were a great event for the children.

''They just love the art, and they just love doing it.''

The awards were sponsored by Dunedin couple Jaye and Russell Brown, and judged by Dunedin artist Janet de Wagt.

The entries will remain on display until October 4.

The awards. - 5-7 years: Millie Quinn, St Bernadette's School, 1; Law-rence Bielski-Cook, Purakaunui School, 2; Mac Sheppard, Roma-hapa School, 3; Blake Schofield, Karitane School, merit.8-10 years: Caroline Quirey, East Taieri School, 1; Terry Langeveldt-Stones, St Leonard's School, 2; Freda Kawharu-Tapsell, Te Kura Kaupapa Maori O Otepoti, 3; Lilli Irving, The Cave Art Studio, merit.11-13 years: Claudia Tate, Tahuna Normal Intermediate, 1; Anaya Cole, Columba College, 2; Josh Short, Dunedin North Intermediate, 3; Miriam Barton, Dunedin Rudolf Steiner School, merit.

Sponsor's prize: Violet Rolston, Ravensbourne School.

Best school: Tahuna Normal Intermediate.

Add a Comment







Our journalists are your neighbours

We are the South's eyes and ears in crucial council meetings, at court hearings, on the sidelines of sporting events and on the frontline of breaking news.

As our region faces uncharted waters in the wake of a global pandemic, Otago Daily Times continues to bring you local stories that matter.

We employ local journalists and photographers to tell your stories, as other outlets cut local coverage in favour of stories told out of Auckland, Wellington and Christchurch.

You can help us continue to bring you local news you can trust by becoming a supporter.

Become a Supporter