New councillors for Clutha wards

Mel Foster
Mel Foster

Two of the three Clutha District wards up for election this year will see new councillors in place.

In Catlins ward, Owaka businessman Dane Catherwood has ousted incumbent Hilary McNab by 216 votes to 178, and in the Lawrence-Tuapeka Ward, former community board member Mel Foster will replace Geoff Blackmore at the council table.

Mrs Foster received 240 votes to Mr Blackmore's 131, according to progress results provided by the council about 2.10pm today.

Bruce ward remains unchanged, after challenger Paul Hanlon failed to make the cut for the three seats available, receiving 223 votes.

Incumbents Gaynor Finch (800 votes), Bruce Vollweiler (767) and Selwyn Wilkinson (633) retain their places.

Clutha Mayor Bryan Cadogan begins a fourth consecutive term after he was re-elected unopposed.

Add a Comment