More sustainable architecture

The Department of Conservation Routeburn shelter, a winner in the public architecture category,...
The Department of Conservation Routeburn shelter, a winner in the public architecture category, uses concrete that both collects heat and echoes the gravel of the nearby river.
Sustainability was a strong feature in this year's Southern Architecture Awards, with judges impressed by how many buildings featured sustainable principles.

The winners were announced yesterday.

There were more entries in the sustainable architecture category this year and many projects in other categories also featured sustainable principles, judging panel convener John Gray, of Dunedin's Oakley Gray Architects, said.

The entries ranged from a school building which made the judges want to go back to school to a Department of Conservation shelter that reached up to the sky and emulated mountains, and Mr Gray said the judges were impressed with the "extremely high" standard of entries.

The University of Otago's $9.6 million Hunter Centre was Dunedin's first structure designed to meet the Green Building Council's green star rating system for sustainable buildings.

It was a winner in both the sustainable and public architecture categories.

The building featured natural ventilation via high automatic louvres, a pellet burner for heating and rainwater collection for re-use. Sustainable timbers were used and only 20% of the construction waste went to landfill.

In the Queenstown Aquatic Centre, low-emissivity glass and vapour barriers minimise energy loss and condensation, while heat is recovered from exhaust air and used to heat incoming air.

The awards are open to all architect members of New Zealand Institute of Architects practices.

There are eight regional awards and the winners are eligible for consideration for a New Zealand Architecture Award, which will be decided by a national jury, including an international judge, next year.

The overall winner of the New Zealand Architecture Medal will be announced in May.

The Southern judging panel included architects David Stringer, of Queenstown, Jo Case, of Dunedin, and Jamie Gilbertson, who is head of college at the University of Otago's Arana College.

• The winners are. -


Fletcher Lodge new wing, Dunedin (Baker Garden Architects).


Coronet Peak base amenities (Michael Wyatt Architect Ltd); Heritage Conference Centre, Queenstown (Warren and Mahoney); Novotel Queenstown Lakeside (Dalman Architecture Ltd); Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel (2 Architecture Studio Limited).


Skyline Restaurant and Bar, Queenstown (Warren and Mahoney).


John McGlashan College Learning and Information Centre (McCoy and Wixon Architects Ltd); Moana Pool new extension, Dunedin (Baker Garden Architects); Queenstown Aquatic Centre (ASC Architects Ltd), also recipient of a Resene colour award; Routeburn Shelter (Michael Wyatt Architect Ltd); The Holy Family School, Wanaka (McCoy and Wixon Architects Ltd); The Hunter Centre, Dunedin (Parker Warburton Team Architecture Ltd).

Residential - Houses

Beacon Point House, Wanaka (Glyn Bilkey Architect Ltd); Cook Calder residence, Queenstown (Michael Wyatt Architect Ltd); Craw House, Wanaka (Crosson Clarke Carnachan Architects, of Auckland); Fisken residence, Dunedin (Mason and Wales Architects); Kereru Cottage, Macandrew Bay (Palmer and Palmer Architects Ltd); Mountain Retreat, Queenstown (Fearon Hay Architects Ltd); Parker residence, Dunedin (Parker Warburton Team Architecture Ltd); Rooke House, Queenstown (Murray Cockburn Partnership, Queenstown); Slope Hill House, Queenstown (Wendy Shacklock Architects Ltd); Wanaka House (Chris Prebble Architects Ltd).

Residential - Multiple Housing

Commonage Close, Queenstown (Mason and Wales Architects); Lakeshore Springs, Wanaka (Chris Prebble Architects Ltd).

Sustainable The Hunter Centre, Dunedin (Parker Warburton Team Architecture Ltd).


Add a Comment



See more great gift ideas !   For Her  |  For Him  |  For Families  |  For Kids  |