Qantas print journalism awards announced

The Herald on Sunday was tonight named Newspaper of the Year at the 37th Qantas Media Awards in Auckland.

The black tie awards dinner at the Sky City Grand was attended by 500 journalists and media leaders.

Listener editor Pamela Stirling was awarded the Wolfson Fellowship to study at Cambridge University.

The full list of winners:

Artwork: Anna Crichton - NZ Herald/North & South/Tatler

Cartoonist: Chris Slane - NZ Listener

Columnist: Jane Clifton - NZ Listener

Editorial writer: Pamela Stirling - NZ Listener

Headline: Karen Eyres - Pagemasters/NZ Herald/Bay of Plenty Times/Herald on Sunday

Humour/satire: Lisa Scott - Otago Daily Times


Newstand magazine: NZ Rugby World

Trade/professional magazine: CIO

Magazine cover: NZ Listener

Magazine designer: Charlie McKay - Metro

Newspaper inserted magazine: Your Weekend - The Press/The Dominion Post/Waikato Times


Single website report: Jock Anderson - National Business Review (

Blog: Kerry Williamson - The Dominion Post

Website coverage of breaking news story: - editor Sinead Boucher

Business website: Businessday

Website design:

Website multi-media/video presentation: Mike Scott -- Taranaki Daily News

Best online news website:

Sports website:

Story/project with community involvement: highly commended - NZ Herald; website: highly commended --, NZherald


Junior newspaper reporter: arts and entertainment -- Tom Fitzsimons, The Dominion Post; business - Jazial Crossley, National Business Review; crime and justice, Bronwyn Torrie - Manawatu Standard; human relations, Vaimoana Tapeleao - NZ Herald; politics, Joseph Barratt - The Aucklander/Herald on Sunday; general, Matt Calman - The Dominion Post; science and environment, Kirsty Johnston - Taranaki Daily News.

Junior reporter of the year: Vaimoana Tapaleao - NZ Herald.

Senior newspaper reporter: business, Rob Stock - Sunday Star Times; crime and justice, Jared Savage -- NZ Herald; human relations, Kim Knight - Sunday Star Times; politics, Vernon Small - The Dominion Post; general, Phil Kitchin - The Dominion Post; science and environment, Marty Sharpe - The Dominion Post; sport, Rebecca Palmer - The Dominion Post.

Senior reporter of the year: Jared Savage - NZ Herald.

Junior newspaper feature writer: science and environment, Charles Anderson - The Nelson Mail; sport, Greer McDonald - The Dominion Post; politics, Sean Gillespie - Waiheke Gulf News; human relations, John Hartevelt - The Press; arts, Ben Stanley - Waikato Times; business, Tom Fitzsimons - The Dominion Post; crime and justice, John Hartevelt - The Press.

Junior newspaper feature writer of the year: John Hartevelt -The Press

Senior newspaper feature writer: science and environment, John McCrone - The Press; sport, Keri Welham - The Dominion Post/Your Weekend; politics, Phil Taylor - NZ Herald; human relations, John McCrone - The Press; arts Christopher Moore - The Press; business, Patrick Crewdson - The Dominion Post; crime and justice, Tim Hume - Sunday Star Times; general, Kim Knight - Sunday Star Times.

Senior newspaper feature writer: John McCrone - The Press

Junior magazine feature writer: Sarah Robson, Salient

Senior magazine feature writer: Crime, Donna Chisholm -- North & South; politics, Simon Wilson - Metro; arts & entertainment, Simon Wilson - Metro; human relations, Amanda Cropp - North & South; science and environment, Donna Chisholm - North & South; business, Rebecca Macfie - NZ Listener; profile, Mike White - North & South.

Magazine feature writer of the year: Simon Wilson : Metro

Student journalism award: Amanda Fisher

Investigative journalism: Vernon Small - The Dominion Post

Newspaper story of the year: Martin van Beynen - The Press


Photography (Junior), Canon best portfolio of six pictures: Blair Ensor -- The Marlborough Express

Best lifestyle picture: Blair Ensor - The Marlborough Express

Best single picture: Chris Hillock - Taranaki Daily News

Best sports picture: Christine Cornege - NZ Herald

Best breaking news picture: Natasha Martin - The Timaru Herald

Canon best portfolio of six pictures (senior): Derek Flynn -- The Marlborough Express

Best lifestyle picture: Amos Chapple - The Aucklander/Our Place Publishing

Best single picture: David Hallett - The Press

Best sports picture: Phil Walter - Getty Images

Best breaking news picture: Mark Taylor - Waikato Times

Open section: arts, Kent Blechynden -- The Dominion Post; environment, Darryl Torckler -- freelance; portrait, Mark Taylor - Waikato Times; object, Amos Chapple - The Aucklander/Our Place Publishing; fashion, Babiche Martens - NZ Herald; sport, Peter Drury - Waikato Times


Front page: NZ Herald

Community Newspaper: The Wellingtonian

Newspaper of the Year (up to 30,000 circulation) Hawke's Bay Today

Newspaper of the Year (over 30,000 circulation) NZ Herald

Weekly newspaper of the year: Herald on Sunday

Newspaper of the year: Herald on Sunday


Print Industry Award for outstanding achievement: Tony Reid

Wolfson Fellowship to Cambridge University: Pamela Stirling -- NZ Listener

Add a Comment

Our journalists are your neighbours

We are the South's eyes and ears in crucial council meetings, at court hearings, on the sidelines of sporting events and on the frontline of breaking news.

As our region faces uncharted waters in the wake of a global pandemic, Otago Daily Times continues to bring you local stories that matter.

We employ local journalists and photographers to tell your stories, as other outlets cut local coverage in favour of stories told out of Auckland, Wellington and Christchurch.

You can help us continue to bring you local news you can trust by becoming a supporter.

Become a Supporter