Arrowtown leads after first round

The Speight's Cup was added to the Arrowtown rugby team's trophy cabinet on Saturday, after it narrowly beat Clyde-Earnscleugh 10-9 at Clyde, finishing the first round of the Central Otago Premier competition unbeaten.

A try to Arrowtown No 8 Eddie Sefo was the only scoring act of the game not from the boots of the respective kickers.

Arrowtown's Kane Dodds converted Sefo's first-half try and added a second-half penalty to give Arrowtown the slimmest of margins over Clyde's three penalties, kicked by Jai Baxter.

Wakatipu overcame a scrappy start to beat Alexandra 34-19 at Molyneux Park, the visiting team holding a slender 10-5 half-time lead.

Right wing Daz Schwalger dotted down three tries in the second half during his man-of-the-match performance.

In Queenstown, the Wakatipu Wanderers were beaten 83-3 by Maniototo at the Queenstown Rec Ground.

Charlie Hore scored 38 of the visiting team's points, with four tries and nine conversions.

Arrowtown leads the top six teams going into the second round on the competition on 35 points.

Maniototo is second on 32 points and Clyde-Earnscleugh third on 28, followed by Upper Clutha A (26), Wakatipu (24) and Alexandra (16).

Add a Comment