Land wards recognised

Long-standing family farm ownership will be honoured in Lawrence next month.

The New Zealand Century Farm Award recognises families who have owned the same farm for a century or longer.

This year's ceremony has drawn the highest number of families since awards were first held in 2006.

Forty-three families will attend the official function at the Simpson Park complex on May 24.

Seven families will be presented with sesquicentennial awards marking 150 years or more of farm ownership.

New Zealand Century Farm and Station Awards committee chairman Symon Howard said interest in the awards grew each year.

Associate Primary Industries Minister Jo Goodhew will be guest speaker.

Mr Howard said the awards were the brainchild of the former Lawrence Heritage and Opportunities Working Party, which decided to recognise New Zealand farming families with a connection to the land of at least 100 years.

In December 2012, the awards committee named Waitahuna man Russell Brown as its patron.

Mr Brown was the founding member and instigator of the awards.

The Century Farm Awards 2013 recipients to be honoured at the celebration dinner are. - Ashburton: Letham (family settled 1898); Auckland: Grey (1913); Balclutha: Agnew (1912), Marshall (1913); Blenheim: Broughan (1863), Tripe (1861); Cheviot: Bray (1912); Christchurch: Oakley (1873); Dannevirke: Allen (1907); Gore: Currie (1892), Hardiman (1894), Miller (1910), Sutherland (1912); Hastings: Oliver (1913); Invercargill: McKenzie (1891); Kaikohe: Dixon (1910); Kaitangata: Johnson (1862); Methven: Holmes (1878); Motueka: Thomas (1862); Nelson: Raine (1844); North Canterbury: Pettigrew (1903); Oamaru: Beckingsale (1869), Conlan (1872/1875), Duff (1901), Kerin (1913), Simpson (1905), Wilson (1913); Palmerston North: Sutherland (1913); Rakaia: Crozier (1912), Honeywell (1912); Rangiora: Eder (1909); Ruawai: Oud (1913); Simpkin (1884); South Canterbury: McIlraith (1912); Southland: Henderson (1863), MacGregor (1875), Yorke (1861); Taranaki: Bridgeman (1913); Timaru: Westgarth (1881); Waikato: Goodin (1877); Waipawa: Warren (1882); Wanganui: Handley (1905).


Add a Comment

Our journalists are your neighbours

We are the South's eyes and ears in crucial council meetings, at court hearings, on the sidelines of sporting events and on the frontline of breaking news.

As our region faces uncharted waters in the wake of a global pandemic, Otago Daily Times continues to bring you local stories that matter.

We employ local journalists and photographers to tell your stories, as other outlets cut local coverage in favour of stories told out of Auckland, Wellington and Christchurch.

You can help us continue to bring you local news you can trust by becoming a supporter.

Become a Supporter