Who will be queen?

South Otago A & P show princesses. Photo by Rachel Taylor.
South Otago A & P show princesses. Photo by Rachel Taylor.
One of the highlights of the South Otago A & P show today will be the crowning of the 2010 Show Queen.

This year's show princesses are: (front, left) Sacha Tempest, Lydia McGimpsey, Kathryn de la Mare. (Middle, left) Rochelle Whitford, Stacey Rhodes, Emma Taylor, Mel Hunter, Kristy Kearon. (Back, left), Shannon Van Vugt, Stephanie Jones, Miriam Paterson and Brodie Ollerenshaw.

The show has attracted 897 stock entries, show secretary Janine Ogden said. These include alpacas, goats, sheep, beef and dairy cows.

"The numbers are down by about 100 in the horses. We have very good quality entries, but less entrants this year"

The show committee was working on "getting back to basics", choosing to focus on producing good-quality entertainment for the whole family to enjoy, Ms Ogden said.

Add a Comment


Our journalists are your neighbours

We are the South's eyes and ears in crucial council meetings, at court hearings, on the sidelines of sporting events and on the frontline of breaking news.

As our region faces uncharted waters in the wake of a global pandemic, Otago Daily Times continues to bring you local stories that matter.

We employ local journalists and photographers to tell your stories, as other outlets cut local coverage in favour of stories told out of Auckland, Wellington and Christchurch.

You can help us continue to bring you local news you can trust by becoming a supporter.

Become a Supporter