Blackmore beats Tansley to keep spot

While the mayoral race took centre stage in Clutha, only two of its wards and one community board held elections - Lawrence-Tuapeka and its community board, and Balclutha.

Geoff Blackmore retained his council position, receiving 310 votes, while challenger Paul Tansley received 150.

Geoff Davidson, Rowena Paterson and Garry McCorkindale return to the Lawrence-Tuapeka Community Board, joined by newcomers Brent Taylor, Malcolm MacLeod and Liz Forbes.

Rochelle Langley and Paul Tansley were unsuccessful.

Ron Davis (1742), Ken Payne (1465) and Hamish Anderson (1177) return as Balclutha councillors, joined by newcomer Jo-anne Thomson (1117). Grant Driver (1069) and Stewart McDonell (792) were unsuccessful.

Selwyn Wilkinson is the second new face on the council, joining sitting councillors Gaynor Finch and Bruce Vollweiler representing the Bruce ward.

Sitting councillors Hilary McNab (Catlins), John Cochrane (Clinton), Stewart Cowie (Clutha Valley), Bruce Graham (Kaitangata-Matau), Michelle Kennedy (West Otago) and Jeff McKenzie (West Otago) were elected unopposed.

The voter return was 49.16% (5796 voting papers), excluding voting papers in transit to the processing centre and special votes.

WO Community Board

The six members were elected unopposed - incumbents Barbara Hanna, John Herbert, Linda Roulston and Sue Wink were joined by newcomers Antony Robertson and Bruce Robertson.

Clutha Licensing Trust

The trust held elections for three of its six wards - Balclutha, Milton and Kaitangata. Julie Gardner, Blair Cross and Steve Morris were elected in Balclutha. Jared McPhee and Stewart MacDonell were not. Tiny Agnew and Ian Carruthers were elected in Milton, and Joy Greene for Kaitangata. Geoffrey Finch (Milton) and Debbie Robertson-Dunn (Kaitangata) were not elected.

Jason Lyders (Lawrence), Doug Scoles (Owaka) and Scott McKenzie (Clinton) were elected unopposed.

Add a Comment