New directors appointed in DCHL restructuring

A pair of national heavy-hitters are among four new directors recruited to help guide the Dunedin City Council's companies.

Dunedin City Holdings Ltd chairman Denham Shale said yesterday he was "thrilled" to have secured the four successful candidates, who would bring new skills and experience to the companies.

"We have got some very good people to come on board," he said.

The new directors are John Gallaher and Tony Allison, both of Dunedin, who would join the City Forests board, and Dr Ian Parton and Dave Frow, who were selected from outside the city to join the Delta and Aurora Energy boards.

Dr Parton and Mr Frow would work alongside incumbent directors Ray Polson and Stuart McLauchlan on the Delta and Aurora Energy boards, meaning fellow directors Ross Liddell, Mike Coburn and Norman Evans would retire from the boards.

Messrs Gallaher and Allison would work alongside Ross Liddell and Mike Coburn on the City Forests board, replacing outgoing directors Norman Evans and Stuart McLauchlan.

Paul Hudson, also a city councillor, was removed from his former post as DCHL chairman last year, and resigned from the Aurora, Delta and City Forests boards this year, Mr Shale said.

The new directors were not available for comment yesterday, and Mr Hudson declined to, when contacted.

The transition would occur on November 1, but details of the directors' fees were yet to be made public.

The appointments marked the latest step in DCHL restructuring since the Larsen review, prompted by last year's multimillion-dollar shortfall in DCHL dividends, recommended changes including an end to directors holding more than one post.

The announcement also followed last week's revelations the DCHL group had recorded a $5 million loss for the 2011-12 year, blamed on tough economic conditions and write-downs in the value of assets.


New directors

John Gallaher
John Gallaher
John Gallaher (Dunedin)
• Senior investment professional, Forsyth Barr Ltd.
• 35 years' experience; former roles in banking, finance corporate management and marketing.
• Current chairman TracPlus Global Ltd, Daestra Holdings Ltd, United Way NZ Ltd, Tui Motu Foundation Inc and Upstart Investment Committee.
• Appointed to City Forests board from November 1.


Tony Allison
Tony Allison
Tony Allison (Dunedin)
• Chief executive, Night 'n Day Foodstores Ltd.
• Former chief operating officer and director of Calder Stewart Industries Ltd.
• Director of AA Cleaners (Otago) Ltd, St Clair Beach Resort, Southern Team Co 2008 Ltd and Southern Steel netball team.
• Appointed to City Forests board from November 1.


Dr Ian Parton
Dr Ian Parton
Dr Ian Parton (Auckland)
• Distinguished fellow and past-president of Institution of Professional Engineers of New Zealand.
• Former managing-director Meritec Group Ltd (formerly Worley Group Ltd) for 15 years.
• Former transition chief executive of Watercare Services Ltd.
• Director of Auckland Transport Ltd and Skellerup Holdings Ltd.
• Pro-chancellor of University of Auckland.
• Appointed to Delta/Aurora Energy boards from November 1.


Dave Frow
Dave Frow
Dave Frow (Wellington)
• Director of ETEL Ltd and Holmes Fire and Safety Ltd.
• Fellow of Institution of Professional Engineers of New Zealand.
• Nine years' experience at Ministry of Energy.
• Former chief executive of Electricity Corporation of New Zealand (1992-99).
• Former director of Waste Management Ltd and Unison Networks Ltd.
• Former member of Telecom Independent Oversight Group.



Add a Comment



Our journalists are your neighbours

We are the South's eyes and ears in crucial council meetings, at court hearings, on the sidelines of sporting events and on the frontline of breaking news.

As our region faces uncharted waters in the wake of a global pandemic, Otago Daily Times continues to bring you local stories that matter.

We employ local journalists and photographers to tell your stories, as other outlets cut local coverage in favour of stories told out of Auckland, Wellington and Christchurch.

You can help us continue to bring you local news you can trust by becoming a supporter.

Become a Supporter