Maniototo Area School prizes

Academic prizes

Year 12: Courtney Smith, Ben Smith. Year 11: Kyle Nabor, Rina Watt. Year 10: Thomas Smith, Aroha Cromb. Year 9: Keith Nabor, Lucy Neilson.

Subject prizes

Workshop technology: Kyle Nabor; English: Candy Ferdinands; mathematics: Ben Smith; science: Rina Watt; social sciences: Candy Ferdinands; art: Rina Watt; graphics: Matthew Neilson; junior science: Thomas Smith; cultural: Will Becker; speech: Lucy Neilson; chemistry: Courtney Smith, Ben Smith; home economics: Aroha Cromb.

Diligence and merit awards

Year 13: Aleisha Lunam-Easson, merit biology, diligence geography; Dominick Geoffrey, merit biology.

Year 12: Liam Harrington, diligence gateway (automotive); Mikaela Woodhead, merit biology, diligence geography; Lakita Taylor, diligence biology, geography; Anton Hood, merit biology, chemistry. Year 11: Kenzie Stuart, merit science, Japanese, English, diligence maths; Keagan Mulholland, merit maths; Dion Voyce, diligence numeracy, science, workshop; Arryn Hawthorne, merit graphics, diligence maths, workshop; Cheyan Vowles, diligence maths, geography; Ayeasha Tapatu, diligence maths; Jorain Araneta, diligence English, art; Declan de Haas, special merit award, science, maths, English, history (work completed at Menzies College 2016).

Year 10: Chelsey Cromb, merit English, maths, food tech, diligence science; Bevan Clark, merit science, workshop, maths, food tech, diligence English, social studies; Nathan Feron, merit science. diligence music. Zac Howell, merit workshop; Joshua Hawthorne, merit music; Blake Anderson, diligence food tech.

Year 9: Sam Flanagan, merit English, maths, diligence food tech; Peter Cheesmur, merit English, social studies, workshop, graphics maths, diligence maths, science. Anna Clarke, merit English; Amanda Voice, merit English, social studies, science, workshop, graphics, art, music, diligence maths; Paris Anderson, merit English, social studies, workshop, maths, diligence science; Yasmin Christian, merit science, food tech, diligence English, social studies, music; Levi Menzies, merit workshop; Madi Pont, merit workshop, graphics, art, diligence English, maths; Damian Carson, merit art, diligence English, social studies; Ashley Macanang, merit music, diligence English, social studies, science; Doug Smith, merit food tech. diligence English, social studies, workshop; Tama Whitcombe, merit food tech; Libby Francis, merit food tech; Will Becker, merit food tech, diligence social studies; Jotahn Croawell, diligence English, science; Dante Devitt, diligence maths.

Sports awards

Athletics: Phoenix Tapatu, Ruby Hore, Doug Smith; cricket: Tom Duffy, Reuben Pyle; curling: Ben Smith, Anton Hood, Courtney Smith; hockey: Natasha Whyte, Charlotte Hutton-Atkins, Hayden Clarke; netball: Candy Ferdinands; road race: Keagan Mulholland, Rina Watt; rugby: Reuben Pyle, Doug Smith, Josh Smith. swimming: Rina Watt, Ben Smith, Doug Smith, Aroha Cromb, Loche Cowan, Charlotte Hutton-Atkins.

Special awards

13 years of education at Maniototo Area School: Reuben Pyle, Sarah McMillan, Shakhan Tapatu; most improved junior: Mahaliya Pike; co-operation and perseverance: Max Hore; leadership: Ben Voice; middle school values: Damian Carson; effort and achievement years 11/12: Mikaela Woodhead; outstanding sportsperson: Matthew Neilson; citizenship: Candy Ferdinands; service: Courtney Smith.


Hadlee Trust Awards: Harry McAslan (ice hockey), Amanda Voice (equestrian), Doug Smith (rugby, athletics), Rina Watt (ice hockey), Courtney Smith (curling), Anton Hood (curling, volleyball), Matthew Neilson (curling, volleyball, basketball), Ben Smith (curling), Reuben Pyle (rugby, cricket), Nicola Kinney (speech/drama), Emma Kinney (speech/drama), Hayden Becker (hockey), Kass Pont (hockey), Max Hore (cricket), Mark Smith (piping), Hayden Clarke (hockey), Joshua Feron (piano), Damian Carson (cricket), Lucy Neilson (St John Youth/curling), Te Ariki Tapatu (rugby), Madi Pont (hockey), Peter Cheesmur (curling), Anna Clarke (curling), Nathan Feron (piano), Dion Voyce (luge), Keagan Mulholland (rugby). RSA Award: Reuben Pyle Maniototo Lions 50th Jubilee Award: Reuben Pyle, Aleisha Lunam-Easson. Centennial Trust Award: Reuben Pyle, Aleisha Lunam-Easson. Principal's Award: Aleisha Lunam-Easson.


Add a Comment

Our journalists are your neighbours

We are the South's eyes and ears in crucial council meetings, at court hearings, on the sidelines of sporting events and on the frontline of breaking news.

As our region faces uncharted waters in the wake of a global pandemic, Otago Daily Times continues to bring you local stories that matter.

We employ local journalists and photographers to tell your stories, as other outlets cut local coverage in favour of stories told out of Auckland, Wellington and Christchurch.

You can help us continue to bring you local news you can trust by becoming a supporter.

Become a Supporter