Otago teachers win kudos, cash

Three Otago teachers have won kudos and cash in the 2011 national Tertiary Teaching Excellence Awards.

Tony Zaharic, senior teaching fellow in the University of Otago's department of biochemistry, Otago Polytechnic School of Art head Prof Leoni Schmidt and Peter Bilous, the Wanaka-based senior lecturer for the polytechnic's avalanche safety and snowsport instruction programme, were among 12 teachers honoured at a function at Parliament on Wednesday night.

Each received an award for sustained excellence and $20,000.

Biological scientist Prof Michael Walker, from the University of Auckland, won the Prime Minister's Supreme Award and an additional $10,000 for his pioneering work to reverse low rates of achievement among Maori and Pacific Island learners. The award was presented by Prime Minister John Key.


Add a Comment