Dominant effort from Otago Uni eight

The Otago University men's eight has claimed an emphatic win in Russia.

It won all three races to win back both trophies in its annual series against the strong St Petersburg State University.

The crews raced over 250m, 2000m and 5.7km, Otago claiming wins in all three.

It opened with a 12sec win in the long race, pulling away in the final 2km.

The next day it began with a 0.21sec win in the 250m event, before claiming a 5sec win in the 2000m race.

Alongside the 3-0 series win, it also gave it a 206-0 victory in the points trophy.

For that, 10 points per second were given for the 5000m, 20 points per second for the 2000m and 30 points per second for the 250m. The win allows Otago to take the trophies for the first time since 2015.

It is the sixth year the exchange has taken place, the teams alternating travel each year.

Two New Zealand crews have advanced directly to the semifinals at the world championships.

The women's four and double sculls both secured automatic qualifying spots during their heats in Bulgaria yesterday.

The four of Ellie Jeurissen, Georgia Perry, Phoebe Spoors and Ruby Tew finished third in their heat.

After falling behind the United States, Great Britain and China early, they surged in the last 500m to finish third.

The double sculls duo of Olivia Loe and Brooke Donoghue were more convincing, finishing as the fastest qualifying crew in 6min 52sec.

Hannah Osborne must race a repechange after finishing third in her women's single sculls heat.


Add a Comment