Dunstan Arm strong on day two

Dunstan Arm was once again Otago’s dominant club on the second day of racing at Lake Karapiro.

After a strong showing on day one of the national rowing championships, the club added to its finalist crews in the repechage races. Notable among them were the women’s club coxless quadruple sculls.

There its two crews claimed first and second in their repechage to qualify for the A final.

That followed a strong performance on Tuesday from its coxed eight in the same category, in which it was the top qualifier for the A final.

Its club coxed four crew also advanced to the final.

In the smaller crews Sophie Thompson and Bella Jolly also combined to make the club coxless pair final.

Meg Creagh and Holly Dalzell won their repechage to make the final of the women’s club double sculls, and Will and Zak Healey matched their efforts on the men’s side.

Wakatipu duo Oliver Herron and Oliver Bisley also won their club double sculls repechage to make the final.

Angus Kenny, of the Otago Rowing Club, also had a successful day.

He advanced to the A finals in both the under-20 and senior single sculls.

Nicolas Cestari, of Otago University, also qualified for a single sculls final in the intermediate grade.

The regatta continues today.

Add a Comment