Business owner wins Timaru mayoralty

Nigel Bowen is Timaru's new mayor.
Nigel Bowen is Timaru's new mayor.
Business owner Nigel Bowen is a clear winner in the Timaru mayoral contest.

Preliminary results showed he had 8322 votes ahead of retired businessman Gordon Handy (4771), former mayor Janie Annear (3887), with Shane Wilson (310) and Kari Mohoao (173) trailing the field.

Former mayor Damon Odey opted not to seek re-election after several terms.

Mr Bowen runs the Speights Ale House restaurant in Timaru.

Around the table will be Gavin Oliver, Paddy O’Reilly, Richard Lyon, Steve Wills, Sally Parker, Peter Burt, Barbara Gilchrist, Allan Booth, and Stu Piddington.