Estate fund’s oarsome gesture for rowing club

At last month’s launch of Whakatipu Rowing Club’s quad, Wilding II, are club captain Hamish Noton...
At last month’s launch of Whakatipu Rowing Club’s quad, Wilding II, are club captain Hamish Noton, left, president Amy Wilson-White and patron Jim Boult. PHOTO: SUPPLIED
A new Whakatipu Rowing Club quad, officially launched by club patron Jim Boult last month, has already proven its worth.

The $20,000 boat’s been named Wilding II to recognise its funding from the E.P. Wilding Estate, through the Wakatipu Community Foundation (WCF).

The estate fund — which in 2013 also donated Wilding I to the club — honours the memory of Peter Wilding.

Former estate trustee and WCF ambassador Graeme Todd says the latest boat’s "a very fitting way to continue the work of the Wildings’ legacy".

The Wilding II successfully debuted at the South Island secondary school champs, where Wakatipu High won the Bell Trophy for best South Island school, then at the national secondary schools’ Maadi Cup where Wakatipu High won the President’s Scull for the third year in a row.

Two new double sculls were also launched last month.

They’re named the Hamish Noton and the Rogers, after club captain Noton and brothers Paul and Peter Rogers who last year built four boatsheds for the club.

Talking construction, work’s about to start on redeveloping the club’s main shed which’ll include an upstairs floor with a kitchen, bathroom, meeting and event space — to be named the Hugo Room following a $100,000 donation from the Hugo Charitable Trust — and a balcony for watching rowing.

Meantime, the club’s annual awards were held in conjunction with the boats’ launch.

Harry Lightfoot won most improved rower, Bella Norton was novice of the year, the Maadi Cup-winning boys’ under-17 quad won performance of the year and Xavier Small won the sportsmanship, leadership and performance award. Seb Watson and Harry Lightfoot were crew of the year, Scarlett, Malika and Wayne Rose won club contribution of the year and Seb Watson was rower of the year.