Clutha Health falls well short

The race for the Clutha mayoralty has begun with a hiss and a roar, but Clutha Health Incorporated was left with only one nomination for its five community directors.

Brian Dodds is the only nomination from the community, and was one of the founding board members from 1998.

Current members Irene Mosley, Joan Hasler, Mervyn Jones, and Peter McCrostie are not standing for re-election.

Clutha Health Incorporated owns and manages the hospital buildings in Balclutha. Its 10-person board is made up of five elected from the community, three by the facility, with the Clutha District Council and local iwi each appointing one person.

Chairwoman Irene Mosley said it was an unusual situation for the board, particularly after having nine candidates for the five positions in 2010.

However, Clutha Health Inc's constitution includes a contingency plan - ''co-opting'' members, and the board would meet next week to discuss the process, Mrs Mosley said.

She was not standing for re-election as she is running in the Dunedin City Council elections.

''Clutha Health First is in a better position, and you tend to get people standing when they are unhappy ... I think it's a reflection that people are happy with Clutha Health First.''

Volunteers also faced more pressure and accountability than 10 years ago, she said.

The Clutha District Council elections gained more interest, with deputy mayor Hamish Anderson challenging the incumbent, Bryan Cadogan for the mayoralty.

Mr Anderson was nominated by former mayor Juno Hayes, and former councillor Jeff Seymour. Stuart Peggie and Timothy White nominating Mr Cadogan.

Six are standing for four positions in the Balclutha ward - Crs Anderson, Ron Davis, and Ken Payne and newcomers Grant Driver, Stewart MacDonell and Jo-anne Thomson. In the Lawrence-Tuapeka ward, incumbent Geoff Blackmore is challenged by Paul Tansley.

All other wards, and the West Otago Community Board will not require elections.

The Lawrence-Tuapeka Community Board will also hold an election, with eight nominations for six positions - Geoff Davidson, Rochelle Langley, Garry McCorkindale, Rowena Paterson (incumbents), and Liz Forbes, Malcolm MacLeod, Paul Tansley, and Brent Taylor as newcomers.

The Clutha Licensing Trust needs no elections, except for its Balclutha ward, which has attracted five nominations for its three positions, from Blair Cross, Julie Diane Gardner, Stewart MacDonell, Jared McPhee and Steve Morris.


Add a Comment






Our journalists are your neighbours

We are the South's eyes and ears in crucial council meetings, at court hearings, on the sidelines of sporting events and on the frontline of breaking news.

As our region faces uncharted waters in the wake of a global pandemic, Otago Daily Times continues to bring you local stories that matter.

We employ local journalists and photographers to tell your stories, as other outlets cut local coverage in favour of stories told out of Auckland, Wellington and Christchurch.

You can help us continue to bring you local news you can trust by becoming a supporter.

Become a Supporter