Erwood named in Ferns development squad

Abby Erwood
Abby Erwood
Abby Erwood's form from the ANZ Premiership has propelled her into the national picture.

The defender joined four others from this year's Southern Steel team in the New Zealand netball squads announced yesterday.

A former youth world champion, Erwood had a stand-out season in which she reclaimed the starting goal defence bib for the Steel.

She was included in the Silver Ferns development squad, alongside wing defence Kate Heffernan.

Heffernan was equally impressive in Steel colours and retains her spot in the national development squad.

Gina Crampton, Shannon Saunders and the departing Te Paea Selby-Rickit all predictably remain in the 16-player Silver Ferns squad.

The trio were all part of the successful World Cup campaign.

Eleven of the 12 players from that were retained, Casey Kopua having retired.

Sam Sinclair, Maia Wilson, Whitney Souness, Kimiora Poi and Michaela Sokolich-Beatson were also included in the Ferns squad.

They will play Australia for the Constellation Cup in October and a squad of 12 will be announced on September 23.

Silver Ferns Squad

Karin Burger, Gina Crampton, Ameliaranne Ekenasio, Maria Folau, Phoenix Karaka, Laura Langman, Bailey Mes, Kimiora Poi, Katrina Rore, Shannon Saunders, Te Paea Selby-Rickit, Sam Sinclair, Michaela Sokolich-Beatson, Whitney Souness, Jane Watson, Maia Wilson 

Silver Ferns development squad

Ellie Bird, Kate Burley, Kayla Cullen, Aliyah Dunn, Tayla Earle, Abby Erwood, Temalisi Fakahokotau, Monica Falkner, Sulu Fitzpatrick, Holly Fowler, Maddy Gordon, Kate Heffernan, Kelly Jury, Claire Kersten, Tiana Metuarau, Erena Mikaere, Grace Nweke, Erikana Pedersen

Add a Comment


Advertising Feature