Cadogan vows to stay on the case

Re-elected Central Otago Mayor Tim Cadogan says he is excited about working with a new council and determined to keep the spotlight on the key issues in the district.

Mr Cadogan had a landslide victory against his mayoral challenger, Victoria Bonham, who scored 839 votes against Mr Cadogan's 7093 votes.

Returning Central Otago Mayor and Mayoress Tim and Linda Cadogan celebrate Mr Cadogan's re...
Returning Central Otago Mayor and Mayoress Tim and Linda Cadogan celebrate Mr Cadogan's re-election. PHOTO: PAM JONES
The results have brought Ms Bonham's one-term council tenure to an end, as she also failed to win seats in the Central Otago District Council's Vincent ward and the Vincent Community Board.

She congratulated Mr Cadogan on his success and said she would continue to campaign and lobby for "a safer, healthier, fairer Central Otago from the other side of the table".

Mr Cadogan said he was "humbled" to be re-elected and the result was a "degree of faith" from voters.

He said he would continue to work on the major issues facing Central Otago, including what he saw as the district's biggest issue, housing affordability. He also wanted to "lead and educate" residents about water issues being dealt with by the Otago Regional Council, and ensure the district council kept improving its management of waste issues.

The council has four new faces: Tamah Alley, Tracy Paterson and Ian Cooney for the Vincent ward, and Cheryl Laws in the Cromwell ward.

Councillors re-elected are Martin McPherson and Lynley Claridge (Vincent ward); Nigel McKinlay, Neil Gillespie and Shirley Calvert (Cromwell); and Stephen Jeffery (Teviot Valley) and Stu Duncan (Maniototo), who were both re-elected unopposed.

There are also several new faces on community boards: Tony Buchanan, for the Cromwell board; Mark Harris, for the Maniototo board; Anna Robinson and Roger Browne, for the Vincent board; and Cushla Browning and Norman Dalley, for the Teviot board.

The other successful community board members are Robin Dicey, Anna Harrison and Werner Murray (Cromwell); Russell Garbutt and Sharleen Stirling-Lindsay (Vincent); Duncan Helm, Robert Hazlett and Sue Umbers (Maniototo) and Raymond Gunn and Sally Feinerman (Teviot Valley).

The numbers 

Tim Cadogan - 7633

Victoria Bonham - 893

Margin - 6740

Voter return - 56.27%, being 8808 votes 

Add a Comment

Our journalists are your neighbours

We are the South's eyes and ears in crucial council meetings, at court hearings, on the sidelines of sporting events and on the frontline of breaking news.

As our region faces uncharted waters in the wake of a global pandemic, Otago Daily Times continues to bring you local stories that matter.

We employ local journalists and photographers to tell your stories, as other outlets cut local coverage in favour of stories told out of Auckland, Wellington and Christchurch.

You can help us continue to bring you local news you can trust by becoming a supporter.

Become a Supporter