Cricket: Awards for Otago's best

Otago cricket award winners (from left) Neil Wagner, Craig Cumming and Tanya Morrison with their...
Otago cricket award winners (from left) Neil Wagner, Craig Cumming and Tanya Morrison with their spoils at the University Oval last evening. Photo by Craig Baxter.
Otago strike bowler Neil Wagner and retiring Sparks spinner Tanya Morrison won the major prizes at the Otago Cricket Association awards at the University Oval last night.

Wagner gained the bowling award and the player of the year award following another excellent summer at the bowling crease. The left-armer took 46 first-class wickets for the province at an average of 26.32, including three five-wicket bags.

Morrison was at her frugal best in her last season with the Sparks. In one-day cricket she took five wickets and boasted the miserly economy rate of 2.64, and in twenty/20 cricket she took six wickets with the impressive economy rate of 4.66.

Craig Cumming, who is retiring after 19 seasons, was named batsman of the year and Katey Martin was the Sparks batsman and fielder of the year. Derek de Boorder picked up the Otago fielding award.

Cumming played 12 of his 19 seasons in Otago and his contribution was acknowledged in a separate ceremony last night.

He was presented with a bat which had all his Otago centuries engraved on to it, his shirt number (13) was formally retired and there were tributes from former Otago team-mate Rob Lawson, former Otago coach Mike Hesson, Black Caps all-rounder Nathan McCullum and Otago Cricket chief executive Ross Dykes. Cumming gave a gracious speech in response in which he thanked his family and Otago Cricket for their support.

Russell Hendry was presented with the contribution to cricket award for his tireless service and vigilant eye when it comes to the accounts.

The Dunedin Cricket Association Awards were held at the Southern Sports Bar and Grill.

Kaikorai's Tim Muir was the club player of the year award, Jesse Simpson (University Grange) was named batsman of the year and Florian Schmidt (North East Valley) won the major bowling award.

Long-serving club stalwart John Henderson was presented the Gordon McGregor award for services to cricket for his outstanding contribution during the past 39 years.


Add a Comment