Committee councillors appointed

The Waitaki District Council has appointed councillors to its new committees, but plans to review how it is operating by June.

The biggest change is replacing five main committees with a "committee of the whole" which will be made up of all 11 councillors and Waitaki Mayor Alex Familton.

It sits below the council, but will have the power to make recommendations and urgent decisions.

At its inaugural meeting last Wednesday, the council also established other committees below the "committee of the whole", then at a meeting yesterday named councillors to serve on those.

The committees, councillors and some chairmen named yesterday were:-Hearings: Crs Peter Garvan, Jim Hopkins, Kevin Malcolm and Hugh Perkins.

Grants and awards: Crs Kathy Dennison (chairwoman), Craig Dawson, Garvan, Sally Hope and Helen Stead.

Harbour: Mr Familton (chairman), Crs Garvan (deputy chairman), Hopkins, Perkins and Gus Young.

Forrester Gallery redevelopment: Crs Hopkins (chairman), Garvan, Hope and Stead.

Rugby World Cup: Crs Garvan and Young.

Youth Council: Crs Geoff Keeling with Crs Hope, Malcolm and Stead on rotation.

Emergency management: Crs Dawson and Young.

Regional land transport: Cr Hopkins.

Otago Forward: Mr Familton.

Development contributions: Crs Dawson (chairman), Garvan, Keeling and Malcolm.

Add a Comment

Our journalists are your neighbours

We are the South's eyes and ears in crucial council meetings, at court hearings, on the sidelines of sporting events and on the frontline of breaking news.

As our region faces uncharted waters in the wake of a global pandemic, Otago Daily Times continues to bring you local stories that matter.

We employ local journalists and photographers to tell your stories, as other outlets cut local coverage in favour of stories told out of Auckland, Wellington and Christchurch.

You can help us continue to bring you local news you can trust by becoming a supporter.

Become a Supporter